• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Want to get organized in 2022? Let Dokkio put your cloud files (Drive, Dropbox, and Slack and Gmail attachments) and documents (Google Docs, Sheets, and Notion) in order. Try Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) for free. Available on the web, Mac, and Windows.


Pat Williams Intellectual Freedom Award

This version was saved 9 years ago View current version     Page history
Saved by Lauren
on January 8, 2013 at 7:54:29 am
Pat Williams Intellectual Freedom Award
Conferred upon an individual or group who has made significant contributions during the past year to the enhancement of First Amendment rights.


The recipient should have demonstrated a clear understanding of the principles, nature, responsibilities and implications of the First Amendment.
The recipient should be a Montanan or a non-Montanan whose contribution has a demonstrable effect on Montana. The recipient should have applied that understanding of the principles in one or more the following ways:
  • In defense of the principles in the face of a serious challenge to it which defense is not necessarily limited to libraries


  • In support of the principles through an active role in Formulating programs which develop people‚Äôs ability to deal with a full range of opinion/controversy and with the issues associated with such controversy, or


  • Developing or materially assisting in the development, of a legal base for the continued enjoyment of freedom of mind, its strengthening, and its defense, or


  • Expanding the philosophical foundation of the principle or contributing to better understanding 


Recipients of the Pat Williams Intellectual Freedom Award


2012  Amy Collins, Geraldine Public School

2011  Nicky Whearty, Helena Schools

2009   Director, Board and Staff of Lewis and Clark Library

2008   Diane Thompson, Jefferson High School

2007  Johanna Freivalds, Lockwood Middle School

2006  Brian Schweitzer, Governor of Montana and Montana State Legislators Jim Elliott and Jim Shockley

2005  Suzi Watne, Coordinator of Library Services, Dr. Bruce Messinger, Superintendant of Schools, and School Board member Brenda Norlund of Helena Public Schools

2004  Helena Education Foundation

2003  Suzanne Goodman, Park High School

2002  Great Falls High School

2001  Bozeman High School




1997  John Frohnmayer, Bozeman

1996  Jim Heckel, Great Falls

1995  Senator Mike Halligan, Missoula, and Representative John Bollinger, Billings, and Representative Deb Kottel, Great Falls

1994  Debbie Denzer, Kalispell

1993  Lewis and Clark Library Board of Trustees (Wendy Wheeler,Chair, Mary Sheehy Moe, Bernard Grainey, Sue O'Connell, Bob Cooper), Helena

1991  Representative Pat Williams, Washington, D.C.

1984  Janis Bruwelheide, Bozeman



Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.